Honda CB1000R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys, I just posted a hello in New Introductions and now on to the important stuff.....:) A little background, I've been riding sport bikes since 1982, many many track days and about 4 years road racing. Of everything I've learned over the years is Suspension is the number thing to set up for a stable and confident ride. But, it seems most riders find it too complicated and just ride the bike as is. I am guilty of this as well for the first 600km I put on my bike.

so I was out riding and came upon a group of hooligans :) I thought I'll just tuck in behind them and give them an idea what the new CB1000R can do. WRONG....we hit a long right hand sweeper and they were gone. The insecurity I felt and the bike moving under me was not a good feeling...what the hell!! Thats IT! Time to set the suspension. A friend came over and helped me set the sag the next day.

I'm 5'11, weigh approx 205 lbs with gear on.

I had to make drastic changes to the preload both front and rear to put this bike in the sweet spot. These number are just for reference based on my weight. So before you make any adjustments, record your current set up so you can go back if you want. Ideally you are looking for about 30% of your total travel.

Front Preload - 18 turns in. Max 20 turns.....indicates I should probably look at a new springs....
Front Compression - 2 turns out from Full hard
Front Rebound - 2 turns out from full hard

Rear Preload - 8 out of 10 ..... Also indicates a possible spring upgrade
Rear Rebound 1.25 turns out from Full Hard.

These changes made a night and day difference to the ride and handing of this bike. If you haven't yet, Please find someone to help you set the static sag of your bike. Good Luck.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Thanks for posting the settings! I'm about 10lbs. off of your weight.