Honda CB1000R Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Loose 2.4kg / 5.3lbs from your bike for $150 US + Postage

Hi Guys,

So as the title states loose 2.4kg by simply changing your battery from the OEM fat 3kg 12v Battery to a 8 cell LiFePo4 battery

Some of you maybe scared of something new and i can verify 2 things

1) the seller MOTY Design - 8 cell battery QD is reputable, he has been selling these for years now, i got one of the first ones he designed over 2 years back

2) the battery is fantastic, i have been using it for 2 years on my CBR600RR. Never missed a beat and i ride my bike every cold, rain, hail and or shine day.

So given my CBR is for track use only i decided to place it into my CB1000R, and decided to give some pics and advice on it all, as the weight saving can help with this massive lard of a bike..lol And think of the space saving also

There are 2 options to choose from the get go- keep the original battery terminals or cutt them off and install flat straight ones. I chose the 2nd option. you can leave the original terminals on if you like, i just wanted a flatter terminal and come latter on you can always bend them to be like the original ones

So Tools Required
Cable Lugs
Cable crimper/wire stripper/cable cutter
Spanner 10mm
Socket/ratchet 10mm
Allen Keys
Rubber strip
Rubber matting ($2 dollar store used in kitchen area)
Lighter or butane gas torch for the heat shrink wrap supplied with the battery (not in pic)
Heat proof gloves (not in pic) shown below though
Zip ties, sorry i forgot to place in the pic

Old Battery 3 Kg worth

New Battery the 8 cell

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
So if you choosing to cutt the wire make sure your cutting the least amount of cable as possible, and install the cable lugs simple enough.

Bolt on the quick release cable to the new lugs, dont forget your PCIII or PCV negative cable as well if you have one installed.