Honda CB1000R Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I finally got my CB to the track this week. I have never done a track day before so I had my first day last week which was a rider training for track riding from Fast Riding School at Shannonville racetrack in Ontario. It is a good program, I only did phase 1 and I believe they have 5 levels and I'll likely sign up for 2 and 3 next summer. Then two days this week I had at Calabogie motorsports park for track day put on by Ducati Canada and I have to say I am absolutely hooked. This track is absolutely beautiful, over 5 km and 20 corners, extremely well maintained. I love riding motorcycles and this was the most fun I've ever had on two wheels. The bike performed beautifully, as expected most bikes were supersports, there were a couple of nakeds, duke890, superduke1290 and a monster but thats about all I believe. The bike handled beautifully with the ohlins shock and I am super happy with that upgrade. It was hard to compare to the other bikes because everyones riding level was so different, a lot of people who couldn't ride a proper line were on litre bikes and could only go fast in a straight line, but I had some good back and forths with a few bikes and the CB could hold its own, and I am sure it would be just as good in the next level up too. I was running Michelin Power GP tires and the grip was unbelievable, leaned over and on the gas it felt like it was on a rail, absolutely amazing. If anyone is thinking about taking their bike to the track but is on the fence, I strongly suggest you do and see what the bike is actually capable of, you can never replicate this type of handling and cornering on the street and I have a new respect for this bikes capabilities. I did notice after the second day this groove which formed in my rear tire, I looks like its where the 2 compounds meet, but I have never seen a seam like this before, anybody else??? The other bike is my girlfr