Honda CB1000R Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,891 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In response to this message by Doser....

Maybe on a separate thread? Like, who is member #1! How did you 'founders' know each other? What website and/or other skills did you each bring to the creation of the forum? Etc...
I'd love to get a bit of a history lesson...
Haha... thanks Doser, it is a bit of a long winded story involving skullduggery, alleged hacking and forum bannings :) (I'm being serious too!)

But the shortened version is as follows:-

I was an admin on Hondahornet.co.uk (Hornets Nest) and it was a very active forum where members would go out on regular ride outs. I met the founder members of this forum there including Antnee, Felix the Cat, JJON, Fordzoid, Brut69 and Flo. We all owned or had owned Honda 600 or 900 Hornets (CB600F or CB900F).

In 2007 Felix the Cat was banned from the Hornets Nest allegedly for hacking, I was accused of giving him another admins password (incorrectly), things got a bit silly and I was banned as well. The others remained, Antnee felt we had been dealt with unfairly and eventually he was banned as well. In the meantime Flo created The Vest (a joke against the Hornets Nest), but this later became Bikehackers.com (reference to us being apparent hackers). During 2007 Bikehackers ran some fantastic rideouts and the forum grew significantly attracting mainly members from the UK (where we mostly are) and especially the South East. But Bikehackers lacked the focus offered by a dedicated bike model forum. Around this time ten years ago Honda announced the CB1000R and we were all really surprised just how cool the styling was compared to the competition, at this time I had a nearly new Yamaha FZ1-N and I had no intentions of buying another bike so soon. Antnee had said that he was going to buy a CB1000R when it was eventually released many months later in the summer of 2008.