Honda CB1000R Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Land vehicle Vehicle Motorcycle Car Motor vehicle Hey all, this is my first post! Purchased a used CB1000R a few weeks ago. Been wanting one for a bit now and finally got one for a great price in mint condition. I've never been a huge fan of the stock wheels, so I had been doing some research on what it would take to fit different wheels. I am a Honda motorcycle mechanic by trade, and I just so happened to come across a 2014 VFR800 wheel with a few scratches on it for next to nothing. This gave me the idea to potentially pursue a rear wheel. I managed to score a used rear wheel from a fellow in the UK for super cheap as well on eBay. The swing arm on the CB is surprisingly similar to the new VFR800's, with the exception of the 5 bolt wheel lugs on the VFR and 4 lugs on the CB. I ordered the VFR rear axle, and brake rotor, and it's a direct bolt on...Score! Front wheel was not as simple...I was able to order one of the spacers from the VFR, and in conjunction with the stock CB spacer, it was properly centered. I measured the offset of the brake rotors with the stock CB rotors on the VFR wheel and it was identical. Only problem is the VFR wheel seems to be the only wheel I've ever seen on a Honda with 5 bolt rotors. I wasn't willing to spend $800 on new VFR rotors and see if they had the same offset, so I had a machine shop drill me out corresponding 5 bolt holes on the original CB rotors. Maybe if I can find a set of VFR rotors for cheap I'll give it a try sometime. As it is, everything lines up perfectly and the bike looks tons better if you ask me! Glad to be a member of the site, cheers!

·
Registered
395 Posts
Welcome!

Gotta post some more pics. I've been running a VFR750 wheel for a while and was curious about my options for a front. Did you do any measuring?